Welcome

Hi and welcome to my blog in which I will share from my life with HIV, my experiences with it, my worries, questions, the problems I encounter but also what I am doing about it.

I decided to create this blog for a couple of reasons: One is to help me, through writing, deal with the infection, which was diagnosed this spring. The other being that I want to share what I’m experiencing and also what I am learning about this condition. HIV still is a taboo for many people and the advancement of the medical therapies available has somewhat gotten it out of the awareness in society. This is also why I want to blog about it. It’s a disease, and no one should be scared to talk about it. In fact, if we dont communicate and talk about it the stigma surounding HIV will persist. Getting the diagnosis HIV surely can be a big hit for anybody that has to receive it (including friends and family) and it is a process to come to terms with it, but also to understand what it means. It raises a lot of questions and worries that require answers to be found for yourself. I hope my sharing will be interesting to read and maybe inspire or help someone else in a similar position.

I found that there is a lot of different information out there, different people telling you different things, so it can be confusing to figure out what is relevant for you and what are facts and what not. One of my main concerns has been that the traditional medicine relies solely on the anti-retroviral drugs as a treatment for a HIV. They inhibit the replication of the virus to a level that it can’t be detected by standard tests anymore. While I don’t question the effectiveness of this so called HAART (highly active anti-retroviral therapy) in any way, I do strongly believe that there are alternatives found in nature, maybe only as a complementary treatment or maybe even as a treatment alternative. In my view the pharamceutical industry as a whole, as proftiable as it is (a trillion dollar industry), is more interested in treating diseases rather than curing them. Seeing that HIV patients are among the most profitable the pharma industry can have (HIV medications cost around 1600€ per month in Germany) I don’t want to rely on them on finding a cure, neither do I want to accept that I should take chemicals every day to improve my condition as long as it is medically not necessary yet.

So this is where I’m coming from. I will continue with how it all started for me.

Leave a Reply

